Meeting/Event Information

    Student-Faculty Collaborative Research at Saint Xavier University; Plus DSA and 50-,60-,70-year Service Awards

    June 20, 2019
    5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
     Add to Calendar

    St. Xavier University
    3700 W. 103rd St.
    Chicago, IL 60655

    Annual Awards Meeting
    Distinguished Service Award to Dr. Josh Kurutz
    50- 60- 70-year Service Awards

    PANEL: Student-Faculty Collaborative Research at Saint Xavier University

    Bindhu Alappat, Ph.D.
    Sharada Buddha, Ph.D.
    Julia Wiester, Ph.D.


    High-impact teaching practices like undergraduate research is a key feature of our curriculum at SXU. The research experience helps students learn to read the chemical literature, design and perform experiments, gain hands-on experience with instruments, analyze data, and interpret results. Several SXU faculty have robust research programs with students. Prof. Alappat researches the isolation and identification of chemicals from natural products and the biological activity of these extracts.   Prof. Buddha studies the molecular basis for ethnomedicine, particularly from plants and herbs.  Prof. Wiester investigates the incorporation of nanoparticles and dyes into solar cells as well as the metal content in everyday items (with Ms. Tejeda).

    PROGRAM (tentative)

    • 5:30 - 6:15  Registration and Social Hour
    • 6:15 - 6:30  Pre-dinner presentation by Claudia Tejeda
    • 6:30 - 7:00  Dinner 
    • 7:00 - 7:10  Introductory remarks and Safety-First minute
    • 7:10 - 7:30  Presentation of the Distinguished Service Award to Dr. Josh Kurutz, and presentation of service awards to 50-, 60-, and 70-year members
    • 7:30 - 8:30  Panel presentation and discussion


    MAIN SITE (With live speaker): St. Xavier University (Chicago)
    REMOTE LOCATION #1: Purdue University Northwest (Hammond, IN)
    REMOTE LOCATION #2: Loyola University (Chicago)
    Also available on Facebook Live:

    TEACHERS! All K-12 educators can receive continuing education credits for attending our meetings. Get your CE form at the registration desk.

    Pre-Dinner Speaker:

    Claudia Tejeda (Sherwin Williams)

    "Heavy Metals in Cosmetics: Counterfeit vs Brand Name Lipstick"


    DINNER (Main site only) : Mini-sandwich bar (turkey, ham, vegetarian), plus chips, fried ravioli, fruit, cookies, cheesecake squares.


    Dinner Registration Deadline: 12:00 Noon on Tuesday, June 18
    Lecture-only Registration Deadline: 12:00 noon Wednesday, June 19

    QUESTIONS OR NON-WEB RESERVATIONS?  Please contact the Section Office via phone (847-391-9091) or email ([email protected]).

    BIOGRAPHIES (alphabetical)

    Bindhu Alappat

    Dr. Alappat received her Ph.D. in chemistry from The Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India and was a postdoctoral research associate at University of Notre Dame, IN. She also worked as a research Scientist at University of Maryland, College Park before joining Saint Xavier University. Currently Dr. Alappat serves as the Chair and Associate Professor at the Department of Chemistry, Saint Xavier University. She has published more than 20 papers in reputed peer reviewed journals and is the PI of a 1.46 million dollar NSF grant awarded for improving the STEM retention and graduation rates.

    Sharada Buddha

    Sharada Buddha Ph.D. is an Associate Professor of Chemistry at Saint Xavier University.  She earned her doctorate from Loyola University of Chicago, IL (Chemistry/Biochemistry) in 2006. Prior to which she had earned the Proficience certificate in Biotechnology from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, Master of Science in Analytical Chemistry from Bangalore University. Her baccalaureate degree is also from Bangalore University with majors in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics. Recently in 2018 she also earned a master’s degree in applied computer science from Saint Xavier University. Dr. Buddha has worked with over 40 students in Natural Products Chemistry/ Medicinal Chemistry and Environmental Toxicology projects.

    Claudia Tejeda

    Claudia Tejeda earned her B.S. in Chemistry from Saint Xavier University and is currently a plant chemist at Sherwin-Williams at their Chicago Emulsion Plant in the south side of Chicago.  She was recently nominated as an “Emerging Leader” within Sherwin-Williams and will be participating in leadership seminars in the upcoming months.  Ms. Tejeda is also part of Mujeres Latinas en Acción Young Professionals Advisory Council, serving as the Member Engagement chair and volunteering for career panels geared at low-income or minority girls interested in STEM careers. 

    Julia Wiester

    Julia Wiester is an Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Honors Program Director at Saint Xavier University.  She earned her B.S. in Chemistry and B. Phil. in linguistics from The Pennsylvania State University and her Ph.D. in Chemistry from Northwestern University.  Dr. Wiester is interested in the physical and analytical applications of plasmonic nanoparticles and chromophores.  She is also interested in incorporating more research-based projects into traditional chemistry lab courses so that all students can have a research experience.  Dr. Wiester is currently leading an EXPLORE STEM Careers course (NSF grant) to help students better identify careers in STEM and build relationships with local industrial partners. 



    St. Xavier University
    Warde Academic Center, Butler Reception Room
    3700 W 103rd St.
    Chicago, IL 60655

    Map & Directions: 

    PARKING: Free in adjacent lots



    Purdue University Northwest
    Gyte Building, Room 240
    2200 169th St.
    Hammond, IN  46323


    PARKING: free



    Loyola University
    Flanner Hall,  Room #105
    1068 W Sheridan Rd
    Chicago, IL 60660

    Map and directions:

    PARKING: $8 in parking structure





    $0.00 MAIN SITE - Lecture only registration

    $0.00 REMOTE SITE #1 - Lecture only registration

    $0.00 REMOTE SITE #2 - Lecture-only registration

    $15.00 T-shirt: CHICAgO Elements

    $0.00 Individual Donation (flexible amount)

    $0.00 Company Sponsorship (flexible amount)

    $0.00 Donation to Project SEED (flexible amount)