Meeting/Event Information

    Gibbs Award Ceremony: Prof. Laura Kiessling (UW-Madison)

    May 20, 2016
    6:00 PM - 10:30 PM
     Add to Calendar

    Meridian Banquets
    1701 Algonquin Rd
    Rolling Meadows, IL 60008

    105th Willard Gibbs Award Address:

    Chemical Probes of Immunity and Tolerance

    Prof. Laura L. Kiessling

    Steenbock Professor of Chemistry
    Laurens Anderson Professor of Biochemistry, and
    Director of the Keck Center for Chemical Genomics
    University of Wisconsin - Madison


    Design principles for compounds that selectively augment immune responses (vaccines) or mitigate them (treatments for autoimmune diseases) would be transformative. Such principles have been elusive because many immune system receptors (e.g., the B cell receptor) can transmit signals that lead to either immunity or tolerance. A molecular understanding of how to control B cell signaling could enhance our ability to design carbohydrate-based vaccines. New synthetic methods have emerged that can be applied to exert extraordinary control over antigen structure, and these methods provide the opportunity to elucidate how this structure influences signal output. Specifically, features of an antigen’s structure (e.g., valency, size, affinity, co-receptor binding) can be altered to optimize its function. We are using living polymerization strategies to generate polymers and nanoparticles that function as antigens. This presentation will focus on our recent results in synthesizing and elucidating the features of antigens that activate targeted immune signaling pathways.


    For pioneering research in chemical biology, including insights into intercellular communication in bacteria and eukaryotes and elucidation of carbohydrate-mediated cell-surface interactions.


    • 6:00 - 7:00  Reception with hors d'oeuvres, and 2 complimentary drinks 
    • 7:00 - 8:30  Dinner 
    • 8:30 - 8:45  ACS Award Ceremony
      • "A History of the Willard Gibbs Award"
        - Mary Jo Boldingh, Chicago Section Chair
      • "Congratulations to Laura Kiessling" 
        - Donna Nelson, President of the American Chemical Society
      • Introduction of Professor Kiessling
        - Dr. Thomas O'Halloran, Northwestern U.
      • Presentation of the Gibbs Medal 
        - Dr. Robert Bergman, UC Berkeley and 2011 Gibbs Medalist
    • 8:45 - 9:45  Gibbs Award Lecture by Prof. Kiessling
    • 9:45 -          Networking


      • Cream of Tomato Basil with Bleu Cheese
      • Meridian Salad
      • Wine
      • Choice of entree:
        • Roast Top Sirloin of Beef with rosemary merlot sauce
        • Fresh Broiled Norwegian Salmon with dill sauce
        • Portobello Mushroom with zucchini
      • Green Beans Almondine
      • Duchess Potato
      • Hot Fudge Brownie with Vanilla Ice Cream and Hot Fudge Sauce


    Dinner reservations are required and should be received by

    Registration Deadline: 12:00 Noon on Monday, May 16

    PLEASE HONOR YOUR RESERVATIONS.  The Section must pay for all dinner orders.  No-shows will be billed.   Please contact the Section Office via phone (847-391-9091) or email ([email protected]) if you have any questions


    From Chicago From I-294 North/South From I-290/I-355/Rt. 53
    Take I-90 west to Arlington Heights Road.  Exit north to the first light, Algonquin Rd., Route 62, turn left/west and travel to Meridian Banquets on the left. Take I-294 north or south to the I-90 junction near O'Hare.  Travel west on I-90 and follow the directions above. Travel north past I-90 as 355 turns into 53.  Exit Algonquin Rd., Rt. 62 east and go to Meridian Banquets on the right.

    PARKING: Free


    Dr. Kiessling received her undergraduate training in Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. There she conducted undergraduate research in organic synthesis with Professor Bill Roush. She received her Ph.D. in Chemistry from Yale University where she worked with Stuart L. Schreiber on the synthesis of anti-tumor natural products. Her postdoctoral training at the California Institute of Technology in the research group of Peter B. Dervan led her to explore the recognition of duplex DNA through triple helix formation. She began her independent career in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1991.

    She is a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, the American Academy of Microbiology, and National Academy of Sciences. Laura's honors and awards include a Guggenheim Fellowship, an ACS Frances P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal, a Harrison-Howe Award, an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, the Hudson Award in Carbohydrate Chemistry, the Alfred Bader Award in Bioorganic or Bioinorganic Chemistry, and a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship. She is also the founding editor-in-chief of ACS Chemical Biology.

    Her interdisciplinary research interests focus on elucidating and exploiting the mechanisms of cell surface recognition processes, especially those involving protein-glycan interactions. Another major research interest is multivalency and its role in recognition, signal transduction, and direction of cell fate.

     View Photos


    $50.00 Member

    $52.00 Non-member

    $0.00 Lecture only

    $10.00 Tote bag: CHICAgO elements - blue